NHTSA Investigates MINI Steering Complaints

Although it isn’t a recall yet, MINI has found it difficult to steer clear of an investigation by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. According to the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, the 2004 and 2005 MINI Cooper is being probed for steering problems.

According to the NHTSA, there is “an unexpected loss of power steering assist while driving the vehicle,” which causes “difficulty while trying to steer or control the vehicle.”

CNNMoney reports that this investigation comes after 54 drivers complaints and a number of confidential field reports to the agency that drivers suddenly lost power steering assistance.” If the problem is widespread, NHTSA estimates that 80,000 MINIs may be affected.

The Detroit News is quick to point out that last month, NHTSA opened a preliminary investigation into steering issues reported on the 2011 Hyundai Sonata,” and as we saw earlier this week, nearly 140,000 Hyundai Sonatas were recalled. Keeping that in mind, MINI may be next.

If an NHTSA recall is issued for the 2004 and 2005 MINI Cooper, we’ll bring you all the details.

By Richard Posluszny  Posted: Sep 29, 2010 08:08 a.m.
US News and World Report

One thought on “NHTSA Investigates MINI Steering Complaints

  1. I own a 2009 Cooper which I acquired as a trade in for my original 2009 one which was the turbo. The turbo was giving me problems with the ignition light flashing. It took me 4 visits to the dealership, 2 hours from my residence, to finally trade it in which was extremely troubling to me. No one at that dealership would “fess up” about the fuel pump problem and last week, during my routine service check at another dealer, a young man who worked there, told me that the model I had are on national recall for the fuel pump. I realize that it was my first dealership who held back on me, but I’m here telling all of you that be aware if your Cooper is giving you problems especially the one stated above. I not only was inconvenienced at great length by the stress of seeing my ignition light flashing but the distance each time to ask about the problem and then when trading in for a regular Cooper, having to pay quite a bit…however, I bargained them down…I feel my original dealership lacked integrity and ethics. If anyone wants the name of either dealership, I’d be glad to give them to you.

Leave a Reply

